Technically there is not a course specified in Minnesota law that calls itself a “renewal course”. Although instructors are free to call their BCA certified curriculum and classes anything they want, the law simply states that for new permits or for renewal permit training, the individual must take another class.

From Minnesota statute 624.714:

Subd. 2a.Training in safe use of a pistol.

(a) An applicant must present evidence that the applicant received training in the safe use of a pistol within one year of the date of an original or renewal application.

So as you can see, the law simply calls for new (original applicants) or a renewal applicant to receive the same training. There is no abbreviated course or “renewal course” specified in law other than the same training that a new or original applicant would receive. It is the same training.

And that training must include a shooting qualification exercise as specified by law.

As a permit holder, you get a 30 day grace period for renewing your permit that extends PAST your expiration date shown on your permit. If you do not renew prior to your expiration or during the 30 day grace period, the Sheriff views your application as new and will charge you his or her current fee for a new permit rather than the reduced rate for a renewal.

By law, the Sheriff may charge up to $100 for new permits and $75 for renewals, and $85 for grace period renewals. Not all Sheriffs charge these amounts. Check with your local Sheriff to see your county’s current fee structure.

The permit to carry training you receive for a new or renewal permit is good for ONE YEAR from the time you complete the course. You can apply for a renewal NO SOONER than 90 days prior to your renewal date.